Comments on: Windows 8 Review – Part One: The Things I Hate http://techgage.com/article/windows_8_review_-_part_one_the_things_i_hate/ PC enthusiasts one-stop resource for high-quality reviews, articles and current technology news. Wed, 29 Jul 2015 00:29:00 +0000 hourly 1 By: Rob Williams http://techgage.com/article/windows_8_review_-_part_one_the_things_i_hate/#comment-3790 Wed, 05 Mar 2014 18:58:00 +0000 http://beta.techgage.com/article/windows_8_review_-_part_one_the_things_i_hate/#comment-3790 With new management at the helm, it seems very likely that Windows 9 will be a very different beast. You can tell Microsoft regrets everything about Windows 8 that drove people away, and it’s even fired some of the management tied to the design teams. It’s silly. In this day and age, Microsoft should be bending over backwards, giving people -exactly- what they want. Instead, the company tried to force a revamp on people, and it didn’t bode too well.

]]>
By: Rachel Quaill http://techgage.com/article/windows_8_review_-_part_one_the_things_i_hate/#comment-3776 Wed, 05 Mar 2014 04:46:00 +0000 http://beta.techgage.com/article/windows_8_review_-_part_one_the_things_i_hate/#comment-3776 I am a passive aggressive and say that okay give it a minute and it might grow on me but I don’t really like it. But it seems, after reading your review, hilarious by the way, I would feel a bit trapped by all of their overthinking. I’m a Mac user and love the freedom I feel. I don’t like the boxes. I just don’t. It looks fun though.

]]>
By: Rob Williams http://techgage.com/article/windows_8_review_-_part_one_the_things_i_hate/#comment-63 Wed, 07 Nov 2012 20:54:00 +0000 http://beta.techgage.com/article/windows_8_review_-_part_one_the_things_i_hate/#comment-63 I don’t buy that excuse at all. It doesn’t matter if most of the wallpaper would be covered… most of it could be seen, and some people could even create special wallpapers with that exact limitation in mind. As for scaling with the tiles, the wallpaper could remain totally static, and only the tiles themselves move. Or again, people could create huge panoramic wallpapers for use in the Start screen.

There’s some solution out there at the moment that does allow heavy Start screen customization, so I think I’ll look for it again and test it out. I saw that people were able to integrate all of their Steam games into the menu as well, which looked rather awesome.

]]>
By: Rob Williams http://techgage.com/article/windows_8_review_-_part_one_the_things_i_hate/#comment-62 Wed, 07 Nov 2012 20:51:00 +0000 http://beta.techgage.com/article/windows_8_review_-_part_one_the_things_i_hate/#comment-62 What I meant by this was having true scalability, to make them as large or small as you want, much like you’re able to do with desktop icons. The entire Start screen is comprised of vector graphics, so offering true scalability wouldn’t have been difficult. At the end of the day, this is one of the most minor complaints I could have.

]]>
By: Rob Williams http://techgage.com/article/windows_8_review_-_part_one_the_things_i_hate/#comment-61 Wed, 07 Nov 2012 20:48:00 +0000 http://beta.techgage.com/article/windows_8_review_-_part_one_the_things_i_hate/#comment-61 See… this is the thing. I don’t use the Start screen that much at all, so having it there hasn’t proven to be as much of a pain as I originally thought. The programs I use most are on the taskbar, and anything else, I can open really quickly without thinking about it. I might just end up forgoing another solution. But, perhaps after I install something like Pokki, I’ll feel right at home and want to keep it, haha. We’ll see…

]]>
By: BornRight http://techgage.com/article/windows_8_review_-_part_one_the_things_i_hate/#comment-58 Wed, 07 Nov 2012 03:58:00 +0000 http://beta.techgage.com/article/windows_8_review_-_part_one_the_things_i_hate/#comment-58 ///We can’t put our own background image in there///

A Microsoft guy had given the following explanation:

“Not only would a photo not stretch and scale as you add more tiles and groups and zoom in and out of the Start screen, it would also be covered up so much by the tiles that you’d never see it.”

http://www.techradar.com/news/software/operating-systems/windows-8-beta-more-personalisation-coming-1057390

]]>
By: BornRight http://techgage.com/article/windows_8_review_-_part_one_the_things_i_hate/#comment-57 Wed, 07 Nov 2012 03:46:00 +0000 http://beta.techgage.com/article/windows_8_review_-_part_one_the_things_i_hate/#comment-57 ///can’t adjust the size of the tiles///

You can adjust the size of the tiles. Right click on the tile and choose the option from the bar that appears at the bottom of the screen.

]]>
By: BornRight http://techgage.com/article/windows_8_review_-_part_one_the_things_i_hate/#comment-56 Wed, 07 Nov 2012 03:29:00 +0000 http://beta.techgage.com/article/windows_8_review_-_part_one_the_things_i_hate/#comment-56 My favorite is Pokki, though I find myself preferring the start screen the more I use Win 8. I may soon uninstall Pokki. However, this start menu replacement will even let you disable the hot corners in desktop mode apart from booting directly to the desktop! That means you can essentially live in the desktop as in previous versions of Windows.

]]>
By: Rob Williams http://techgage.com/article/windows_8_review_-_part_one_the_things_i_hate/#comment-53 Wed, 07 Nov 2012 02:45:00 +0000 http://beta.techgage.com/article/windows_8_review_-_part_one_the_things_i_hate/#comment-53 Do you happen to have a favorite between those Start solutions? I’ve been putting off testing some of them out, but will be looking at some soon (will be moving from the preview release to retail, so I plan to do all that testing before the format).

And… I do agree completely with your second point. It still just burns a little bit. As a consumer who has used the same basic solution for so long, it sucked not having a real choice. Well, aside from simply avoiding Windows 8 entirely, that is.

]]>
By: BornRight http://techgage.com/article/windows_8_review_-_part_one_the_things_i_hate/#comment-52 Wed, 07 Nov 2012 01:12:00 +0000 http://beta.techgage.com/article/windows_8_review_-_part_one_the_things_i_hate/#comment-52 There are tons of free third party apps available now that will put a start menu back on your desktop. Try Classic Shell, Vistart, Pokki or Start8, for example. In fact these programs allow more customization than the traditional start menu ever did! For example, you can use a Win 95-style start menu or a Windows Vista/7 style one. You can even boot directly into the desktop bypassing metro!

////Microsoft should have given its customers a choice, but instead insists that they adopt this new solution./////

This is a business strategy. If customers are given a choice, many of them will switch off the start screen. Then, metro app developers won’t get the audience they’d like, so the app ecosystem will not grow and revenue generation will not take off.

]]>