Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Software > Gaming

Gaming Anything gaming-related can be discussed here, for PCs, handhelds and consoles.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-03-2008, 08:49 PM   #1
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,858
Default Call of Duty 4 - -Modern Warfare

Just got the game today and I like it.
The graphics and the surround sound are really good.
I read that most do not get a good jump from the ship and the recording was like in the Matrix " No body makes it the First Time"...But I did make it....lol

The colors are really rich in detail and there are all kinds of things going on all around as you play.
I'll play a little more and see how it goes for the rest of the game

Merlin
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 02:07 PM   #2
FISH
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 19
Default

Hello Merlin....you should hop on and play multiplayer...it's a great, though challenging, experience.
FISH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 03:47 PM   #3
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,858
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FISH View Post
Hello Merlin....you should hop on and play multiplayer...it's a great, though challenging, experience.
Well, it doesnt see punkbuster, gives me errors
I guess I need to delete and reload?
I didnt accept it when I loaded the game, thinking I could do it later.

I'd like the see the online gaming

Merlin
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 03:56 PM   #4
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,337
Default

Hmm. I wonder if you have a security application installed that halted its installation? I use the game through Steam when I benchmark and it installed PunkBuster no problem.

Check your task manager and see if PnkBustrA.exe (or something like that) and PnkBustrB.exe are running. If they are, then Punk Buster is running. You might also want to go to the PB installation directory, under /Program Files/... it's there somewhere. But inside, there is an updater which will bring the program to its latest version and hopefully fix the problem. In addition, when one of these updaters (I forget the name of it) is launched, it should show all compatible games installed. If CoD4 is not there, you can manually add it.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 05:15 PM   #5
FISH
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 19
Default

Sometimes you need to reinstall and run it. Heres a link:

http://www.evenbalance.com/index.php?page=pbsetup.php

Install...select the game and run the updates
FISH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 05:16 PM   #6
FISH
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 19
Default

pbsetup.exe is the file
FISH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 06:24 PM   #7
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,858
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FISH View Post
pbsetup.exe is the file
Did it and it found Call of Duty...should work now?


Merlin
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 06:29 PM   #8
FISH
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 19
Default

should work
FISH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 06:46 PM   #9
THUMPer
Coastermaker
 
THUMPer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Indianpolis!
Posts: 230
Default

/com_maxfps 125
/cg_draw fps 1

125 is the macig FPS. but you can see how high it goes just change it to 0 (unlimited) or to 300
THUMPer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 08:28 PM   #10
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,858
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FISH View Post
should work
After all that, I get:

Service Communication Failure: PnkBstrA.exe

The multiplayer game starts, then stops and thats what I get
The IS a legal copy....as always
Merlin
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 08:45 PM   #11
FISH
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 19
Default

Merlin....are you running a Firewall or Anti Virus program?
FISH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 09:50 PM   #12
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,858
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FISH View Post
Merlin....are you running a Firewall or Anti Virus program?
none

just vista ultimate32
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 09:52 PM   #13
FISH
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 19
Default

and you are positive Windows Firewall isnt running in the background ?(forgive me if you are very computer savvy....you never know)
FISH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 10:12 PM   #14
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,858
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FISH View Post
and you are positive Windows Firewall isnt running in the background ?(forgive me if you are very computer savvy....you never know)
Yup, turned off firewall and bit defender
tried it again and still the same.

Ahhhhh I'll just play the single player version.
got me stumped
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 10:31 PM   #15
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,337
Default

Maybe these pages on the official PunkBuster site will help:

http://www.evenbalance.com/index.php?page=dl-cod4.php
http://www.evenbalance.com/index.php?page=pbsetup.php
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 to Offer Dedicated Servers for the PC Rob Williams Gaming 2 08-20-2011 07:07 PM
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 'Reveal' Trailer... Revealed Rob Williams Gaming 2 05-25-2011 04:09 PM
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 Linked to Russian Airport Bombing Rob Williams General Technology 7 01-30-2011 07:48 PM
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 16 12-11-2009 02:14 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:57 PM.