Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Hardware > Overclocking and Cooling

Overclocking and Cooling Looking for overclocking tips? Want to boast about your feats? Discuss that and cooling here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-25-2008, 05:55 AM   #1
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lakeland, Fl
Posts: 1,859
Default Defrag @ boot

I have been trying a few changes with OC'ing, and each time I change something in bios, it boots and then defrags .

Is that normal for win vista ?

Anyone?

Merlin
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 10:55 AM   #2
sbrehm72255
Tech Monkey
 
sbrehm72255's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Back Woods of MO
Posts: 785
Default

Sounds like your OC is starting to corrupt the OS for some reason, I know that it's happened to me before.
__________________
Mountain Mods U2 UFO Chassis / Gigabyte EP45T Extreme / Intel Q6600 / Kingston DDR3 1375 2 x 1 gig + Patriot DDR3 1600 2 x 1 gig / Sapphire HD4870 Toxic / Seagate 7200.10 250 / Lite-On SATA DVD RW / OCZ Game XStream 700w / Soyo 24" LCD / Ubuntu 7.10.

Cooling: CPU Loop: Thermochill PA120.3 Radiator / Swiftech MCP655 Pump / Swiftech APOGEE GTZ / "T" Line
GPU Loop: Swiftech MCR120 / Swiftech MCP350 Pump / Swiftech MCW60 / Swiftech Micro Rez.
sbrehm72255 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 03:15 PM   #3
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

I believe you mean a check disk, not a defrag. That can sometimes happen when a thumb drive is plugged into the system, so make sure there isn't one. It could also be that the hard drive really is messed up. So you might want to check up on it in Windows and make sure the SMART information is good and that you perform a full-fledged scan on it ( chkdsk /f C: ).

Overclocking might also have the effect, especially if it never does this without overclocking.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 05:29 PM   #4
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lakeland, Fl
Posts: 1,859
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Williams View Post
I believe you mean a check disk, not a defrag. That can sometimes happen when a thumb drive is plugged into the system, so make sure there isn't one. It could also be that the hard drive really is messed up. So you might want to check up on it in Windows and make sure the SMART information is good and that you perform a full-fledged scan on it ( chkdsk /f C: ).

Overclocking might also have the effect, especially if it never does this without overclocking.
Only when I make a change in Bios...otherwise it boots right up
At first I thought it was Perfect Disk, because one time I set it up to defrag at boot up....but I checked and it is not set to do that all the time...just that once.
It's system files that can not be defragged with the OS booted and running.

Merlin
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 08:53 AM   #5
Kougar
Techgage Staff
 
Kougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,653
Default

So is it doing a CHKDSK or a defrag??

Only other thing I can think of is if you have a RAID array set up?
__________________
Core i7 4770k 4.2Ghz
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Crucial Ballistix Sport LP 1600MHz 32GB
EVGA GTX 480 HydroCopper FTW
ASUS Xonar DX
Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB | Windows 7 64-bit
Apogee XT + MCP655 & Thermochill Triple 140mm Radiator
Corsair AX1200 PSU | Cooler Master HAF-X

Kougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 09:12 PM   #6
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lakeland, Fl
Posts: 1,859
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kougar View Post
So is it doing a CHKDSK or a defrag??

Only other thing I can think of is if you have a RAID array set up?
Just defrag.....

Merlin
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 11:57 PM   #7
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

Can you take a picture of this? I don't understand how Windows itself would defrag on boot. Unless you have some third-party application installed that would enable this, I still think it's a CHKDSK.

Regardless, it still sounds overclocking related.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 06:13 AM   #8
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lakeland, Fl
Posts: 1,859
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Williams View Post
Can you take a picture of this? I don't understand how Windows itself would defrag on boot. Unless you have some third-party application installed that would enable this, I still think it's a CHKDSK.

Regardless, it still sounds overclocking related.
Yup....when I get back in from work today.
I guess no one else has seen it before......could be an EVGA 780i thing?

Anyway, I'll post later today.

Merlin
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 11:01 PM   #9
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lakeland, Fl
Posts: 1,859
Default Boot Defrag Video

Made a video and uploaded to You TUBE

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lg1Q_0c1-Ag

PS...that's my bird in the background, whistling

Merlin
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit


Last edited by Merlin; 03-27-2008 at 11:04 PM.
Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 03:52 AM   #10
Kougar
Techgage Staff
 
Kougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,653
Default

Definitely Vista's boot time defrag, and I see you let it complete as well. It's supposed to be a one time defrag. I noticed your bootloader as well. I really don't know, it could be the overclocking did something.

For awhile I had CHDSK repeatedly running upon startup, but after I manually scheduled a CHDSK scan and let it run then it stopped. In my case I was pretty sure it was due to overclocking, I was pushing the limits and seeing if Vista would prove to be as tolerant as XP is for it.
__________________
Core i7 4770k 4.2Ghz
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Crucial Ballistix Sport LP 1600MHz 32GB
EVGA GTX 480 HydroCopper FTW
ASUS Xonar DX
Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB | Windows 7 64-bit
Apogee XT + MCP655 & Thermochill Triple 140mm Radiator
Corsair AX1200 PSU | Cooler Master HAF-X

Kougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 03:59 AM   #11
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

I had no idea there was such thing as a boot-time defragger... sorry for doubting you! Even with overclocking, I find it odd that it would show up each and every time. Once in Windows, have you stress-tested your overclock to see if it's stable?

I haven't overclocked that much under Vista, but the bit I did do didn't spawn results like that.

As for the bootloader, that's an old GRUB installation, but since no Linux is installed, it could easily be overwritten.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 08:06 AM   #12
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lakeland, Fl
Posts: 1,859
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Williams View Post
I had no idea there was such thing as a boot-time defragger... sorry for doubting you! Even with overclocking, I find it odd that it would show up each and every time. Once in Windows, have you stress-tested your overclock to see if it's stable?

I haven't overclocked that much under Vista, but the bit I did do didn't spawn results like that.

As for the bootloader, that's an old GRUB installation, but since no Linux is installed, it could easily be overwritten.
Yes, I use Everest to do the stress test.
It only does the boot time defrag IF I make a change.
After final boot of Vista, and I reboot, it does not do the boot time defrag, just boots normal.
Also, I have the first boot device set to hard drive, yet in the boot up I see that the Boot device is reset,,,,,hmmmmm.
I'll have to look at that again.....I have the drive installed from the other machine untill I get the q9450 onto the other 780i board,
Maybe it sees the OS there......

Merlin
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 11:50 PM   #13
Krazy K
Partition Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Awesomeville, Mn
Posts: 265
Default

I've had an issue like that long ago with XP. I booted in Safe Mode and then restared and it went right in windows after that. I keep that trick near-by in case I ever see it again, worth trying I'd say.
Krazy K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 05:49 AM   #14
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lakeland, Fl
Posts: 1,859
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krazy K View Post
I've had an issue like that long ago with XP. I booted in Safe Mode and then restared and it went right in windows after that. I keep that trick near-by in case I ever see it again, worth trying I'd say.
It only happens when I change settings in Bios.... I think it is a mobo/vista thing

Merlin
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Diskeeper 11 Released; Introduces 'Instant Defrag' and 'Efficient Mode' Rob Williams General Software 3 03-28-2011 12:05 PM
No boot, no beep pleace help Cobra26 General Hardware 12 12-02-2010 10:18 AM
Removing one OS from Dual Boot Merlin General Software 5 07-11-2008 10:36 AM
Won't Boot KaitenV Storage Devices and Memory 3 05-24-2007 11:09 PM
Boot Defrag Diskeeper 10 Emile General Software 3 07-08-2006 11:01 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:06 AM.