Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Software > General Software

General Software Apple, Linux, Windows, alternative OS and software application chat here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-28-2008, 09:42 PM   #1
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default Going Vista 64-Bit...

No, my forum account has not been hacked - it's really me. Up to now, I've been using the same computer for both benchmarking and regular use/gaming (two hard drives), but I decided it would be a lot easier to have separate computers for each... (duh).

I decided to use the recently reviewed Skulltrail as the main Windows rig here, at the same time deciding to go with Vista Ultimate 64-Bit. There are a few reasons for this, but the main is that I want to use Vista on a regular basis in order to learn the ins-and-outs more, and also its quirks. The last Vista 64-Bit install was actually quite painless (it surprised me), so I decided to go that route with this build since I am using 4GB of RAM.

I'll be sure to post in this thread if I run into any absolutely bizarre issues. Right now, the OS is installed along with many of my applications and so far, all is good. Some applications load a little slow and the OS still suffers from obvious quirks that I've mentioned before, but nothing has been show-stopping yet. For the sake of not wanting to reformat, I hope it keeps that way.

The worst problem I've run into so far is that a tool for the MMO I play won't function, but it doesn't surprise me since this app was released before Vista and heavily relies on an older version of .NET (1.1). But, I also have Windows XP installed alongside Vista just in case something drastic happens (or if I need to run a legacy application that won't work in Vista).
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 09:59 PM   #2
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

Heh, first problem, but it's not Vista's fault. I installed Nero 8 earlier, and because it's out of date (it's a launch copy), I decided to update it using the in-application updater.

For whatever reason, during the process it uninstalled itself and left me with nothing... it's not even in the Add/Remove. How in the heck does that make sense? I update it, and it uninstalls itself?

Nero screwed up something there.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 10:28 PM   #3
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

And so what's up with Vista allowing incredibly large icons? The first time I chose "Extra Large", I almost laughed up a lung.

Large:



Extra Large:



Sure, it might be for people who can't see well, but damn.

Also fun to note that Adobe apparently dislikes Lightroom enough to not give it a big icon and also refuses to put their name in front of it
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 04:01 AM   #4
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,858
Default

It's great for viewing image files with large icons and yes better than LR

Merlin
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 09:34 AM   #5
BlackAndy
E.M.I.
 
BlackAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Plainfield, IN
Posts: 52
Default

Rob,
Any attempts at ripping DVDs with nero 8 and vista yet? Photo editing? sound editing? Video editing? DVD burning?
Inquiring minds want to know!
I am still deciding if I should stick with xp pro or make the leap to vista ultimate for the new rig.... I should be ordering parts next week and I assume I'll make the leap, but I'm just a little hesitant...
-Andy
BlackAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 11:31 PM   #6
b1lk1
Tech Monkey
 
b1lk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ontario
Posts: 821
Default

I reinstalled Vista tonight myself. I had to pull 2GB of ram out to get past the BSOD's during install, but once the hotfix was installed, all has been well. I am going to keep my eye on this since I too am learning this darn OS slowly but surely.
__________________
Oldschool PC:
Intel E6300/Nouctua NH-9U w/dual 92mm Panaflos
XFX 680i LT
Patriot PC2-6400 2X2GB LL
2 X BFG 8800GTX in SLI
Enermax Revolution 620W PSU
ASUS 24X DVD/Seagate 250GB SATA 2/THermaltake A90/Windows 7 Ultimate 64
b1lk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 11:43 PM   #7
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Merlin View Post
It's great for viewing image files with large icons and yes better than LR
People who say something is better than Lightroom have no idea what Lightroom is used for.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackAndy View Post
Any attempts at ripping DVDs with nero 8 and vista yet? Photo editing? sound editing? Video editing? DVD burning?
Inquiring minds want to know!
I am still deciding if I should stick with xp pro or make the leap to vista ultimate for the new rig.... I should be ordering parts next week and I assume I'll make the leap, but I'm just a little hesitant...
Well, so far so good bro. Usually I don't even have to use the Windows machine for much of anything, but because of this contest I've had to deal with Dreamweaver, Photoshop and Illustrator a fair amount... so far no real issues... no more so than the 32-Bit Vista version.

So yes, I've done a bit of photo editing and did a quick video edit, but other than that, I doubt there is much of a problem you will experience. What applications are most important to you?

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
I reinstalled Vista tonight myself. I had to pull 2GB of ram out to get past the BSOD's during install, but once the hotfix was installed, all has been well. I am going to keep my eye on this since I too am learning this darn OS slowly but surely.
What version? The 32-bit?
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 12:18 AM   #8
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,858
Default

Lightroom is for managing digital images, I was talking about using the large icons in Vista, just to see the thumbnail as a larger icon.
I have used photoshop since 3.0 . And now we have all these new features in PS CS3 Extended, and again Lightroom is almost a seperate program for Format including RAW images. If I were a professional photographer I would use Lightroom more. As it stands, I may use it as a thumbnail viewer.......thus again my comment on the larger thumbnail view in Vista


Merlin
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit


Last edited by Merlin; 03-02-2008 at 12:27 AM.
Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 01:19 AM   #9
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

Yes, I understand the thing with the large icons, there was no confusion as to that. Lightroom gives more control over RAW images than Photoshop does... and I like the fact that I can just export and changed I make right into Photoshop for final editing.

As for the thumbnails though... they are still SO large. They give you "Large" and "Extra Large", but the differences between the two are ridiculous. An in-between wouldn't be too bad.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 11:56 AM   #10
b1lk1
Tech Monkey
 
b1lk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ontario
Posts: 821
Default

64-Bit. I don't even want to ever get used to 32-bit since to me it makes no sense since the world needs to go straight 64 bit from Vista on out. I feel that Vista should not even have a 32 bit version.
__________________
Oldschool PC:
Intel E6300/Nouctua NH-9U w/dual 92mm Panaflos
XFX 680i LT
Patriot PC2-6400 2X2GB LL
2 X BFG 8800GTX in SLI
Enermax Revolution 620W PSU
ASUS 24X DVD/Seagate 250GB SATA 2/THermaltake A90/Windows 7 Ultimate 64
b1lk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 10:55 PM   #11
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

I agree.. 64-bit should be made the standard version. That way, we can all use applications that are actually compatible :-/
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 09:54 AM   #12
sbrehm72255
Tech Monkey
 
sbrehm72255's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Back Woods of MO
Posts: 785
Default

I'll be putting Vista Ultimate on a drive here before to much longer as well (getting a free copy from MS), just don't know if I want to go 32 or 64 bit yet.
__________________
Mountain Mods U2 UFO Chassis / Gigabyte EP45T Extreme / Intel Q6600 / Kingston DDR3 1375 2 x 1 gig + Patriot DDR3 1600 2 x 1 gig / Sapphire HD4870 Toxic / Seagate 7200.10 250 / Lite-On SATA DVD RW / OCZ Game XStream 700w / Soyo 24" LCD / Ubuntu 7.10.

Cooling: CPU Loop: Thermochill PA120.3 Radiator / Swiftech MCP655 Pump / Swiftech APOGEE GTZ / "T" Line
GPU Loop: Swiftech MCR120 / Swiftech MCP350 Pump / Swiftech MCW60 / Swiftech Micro Rez.
sbrehm72255 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 12:54 PM   #13
b1lk1
Tech Monkey
 
b1lk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ontario
Posts: 821
Default

With your hardware it makes no sense to go 32-bit.
__________________
Oldschool PC:
Intel E6300/Nouctua NH-9U w/dual 92mm Panaflos
XFX 680i LT
Patriot PC2-6400 2X2GB LL
2 X BFG 8800GTX in SLI
Enermax Revolution 620W PSU
ASUS 24X DVD/Seagate 250GB SATA 2/THermaltake A90/Windows 7 Ultimate 64
b1lk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 03:53 PM   #14
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

Anyone who has a good understanding of computers and knows how to fix potential problems that could arise should go with a 64-Bit OS. I've run into few problems with the OS so far, but I admit I am not a regular user. I don't use a virus scanner or firewall, nor use the machine as my primary. I use it mainly for general work (Photoshop and the like) and gaming when I can find time.

So far though, I still haven't run into any serious issues... running like a dream overall.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 04:05 PM   #15
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,858
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Williams View Post
Anyone who has a good understanding of computers and knows how to fix potential problems that could arise should go with a 64-Bit OS. I've run into few problems with the OS so far, but I admit I am not a regular user. I don't use a virus scanner or firewall, nor use the machine as my primary. I use it mainly for general work (Photoshop and the like) and gaming when I can find time.

So far though, I still haven't run into any serious issues... running like a dream overall.
Are you doing dual boot?
There;s something I need to do in the bootstrapper to get mine to dual.
I was going to try the Ubunu 7.10 linux OS as dual OS. I have the ISO ready.

Or....can you just boot fron the CD?

Merlin
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit


Last edited by Merlin; 03-05-2008 at 04:12 PM.
Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jerry Seinfeld Said to Feature in Vista Vista Ad Campaign Rob Williams Off Topic 1 08-24-2008 01:00 PM
Vista 32 bit vs 64 bit Merlin General Software 8 02-15-2008 09:41 PM
Vista... sucks Rob Williams General Software 59 02-10-2008 09:52 PM
Vista 32-Bit 2GB vs. 3GB Rob Williams Storage Devices and Memory 26 04-20-2007 12:58 AM
XP or Vista Sledgehammer70 General Software 11 04-03-2007 07:57 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:12 AM.