Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Software > General Software

General Software Apple, Linux, Windows, alternative OS and software application chat here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2008, 09:28 AM   #1
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lakeland, Fl
Posts: 1,859
Default Removing one OS from Dual Boot

I have a dual boot of Vista 32 and Vista 64.
I want to remove the 64 bit OS and leave all of the 32 bit system only
Maybe I'm having a brain fart here, but I dont remember how to do it

Merlin
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 10:24 AM   #2
Kougar
Techgage Staff
 
Kougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,653
Default

Actually, I ran into this problem myself! I remembered the hard way that if you dual boat Vista using one OS per drive, you can't remove or modify the other drives without Vista failing to boot. So because I dual-boot XP + Vista, if I modify or unplug the XP drive then Vista won't work despite it being on a different drive.

There may be a way to do this, but so far I think the only option is to rebuild your Vista bootloader using the Vista disc. It actually didn't work for my Vista install though, it couldn't find the Vista install. Which is strange because I've had to do this frequently in the past and usually it works.
__________________
Core i7 4770k 4.2Ghz
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Crucial Ballistix Sport LP 1600MHz 32GB
EVGA GTX 480 HydroCopper FTW
ASUS Xonar DX
Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB | Windows 7 64-bit
Apogee XT + MCP655 & Thermochill Triple 140mm Radiator
Corsair AX1200 PSU | Cooler Master HAF-X

Kougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 11:53 AM   #3
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lakeland, Fl
Posts: 1,859
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kougar View Post
Actually, I ran into this problem myself! I remembered the hard way that if you dual boat Vista using one OS per drive, you can't remove or modify the other drives without Vista failing to boot. So because I dual-boot XP + Vista, if I modify or unplug the XP drive then Vista won't work despite it being on a different drive.

There may be a way to do this, but so far I think the only option is to rebuild your Vista bootloader using the Vista disc. It actually didn't work for my Vista install though, it couldn't find the Vista install. Which is strange because I've had to do this frequently in the past and usually it works.
Yeah, That's what I did, putting each OS on different drives, thinking that would be a better way.
Now the other machine I have vista32 bit and WinXP.....I keep it that way just in case.

Thanks....

I'll try to contact MS to see what they would suggest

Merlin
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 02:04 PM   #4
Kougar
Techgage Staff
 
Kougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,653
Default

For future reference, it's best to install each OS onto it's own drive WITHOUT the other drive plugged into the system. As long as Vista thinks it is the only OS around you can change drives, boot to either OS at boot, and generally not have to deal with Vista and its singular OS mentality.
__________________
Core i7 4770k 4.2Ghz
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Crucial Ballistix Sport LP 1600MHz 32GB
EVGA GTX 480 HydroCopper FTW
ASUS Xonar DX
Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB | Windows 7 64-bit
Apogee XT + MCP655 & Thermochill Triple 140mm Radiator
Corsair AX1200 PSU | Cooler Master HAF-X

Kougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 02:55 PM   #5
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

You can do it very easily with EasyBCD:

http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/.../EasyBCD.shtml

It's helped me out a few times in the past. If you remove the entry you don't need, it should work fine. If you somehow run into a problem where the machine doesn't boot, booting up like Kougar said with the Vista disc and entering repair mode should fix it quick.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2008, 10:36 AM   #6
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lakeland, Fl
Posts: 1,859
Thumbs up worked

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Williams View Post
You can do it very easily with EasyBCD:

http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/.../EasyBCD.shtml

It's helped me out a few times in the past. If you remove the entry you don't need, it should work fine. If you somehow run into a problem where the machine doesn't boot, booting up like Kougar said with the Vista disc and entering repair mode should fix it quick.
Worked great to get it off the boot, now to recover some hard drive real estate, I'll try to delete as much as I can.

Thanks

Merlin
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GameStop Removing OnLive Coupons Deus Ex: HR Boxes Rob Williams Gaming 15 08-30-2011 11:38 PM
removing alureon.a Psi* General Software 2 12-15-2010 10:11 PM
Dual boot from old HDD mounted externally JTTundra2007 General Software 9 11-17-2010 09:37 AM
Removing dents from your car Rob Williams Off Topic 1 06-05-2007 11:03 PM
NEED HELP!!!!! removing ALCAN.I TaxiDriver65 Off Topic 8 07-20-2006 01:06 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:35 PM.