Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Hardware > General Hardware

General Hardware Any tech topic that can't be fit into another category belongs here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-14-2008, 01:04 AM   #1
Relayer
E.M.I.
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 67
Unhappy Nothing's working???

Hi guys. I'm having a real issue. My computer won't boot up. Last night I was attempting to update my video cards bios. It's an MSI 3870. I went to the sight and tried using their auto update utility. I let it scanmy computer and it found an updated bios for me. When I attempted to use the update thuogh, it said that it couldn't find the appropriate device. I tried a few times, but to no avail. While I was doing this windows DL'd an auto update. When I was prompted to reboot I said yes. When I tried to turn my PC back on though, it wouldn't boot up. It turns on, but won't even send an output signal to my monitor.
I had my PC OC'd. I tried clearing the cmos but that hasn't helped. Anyone have anything else I can try? I'm stumped.

System specs. Intel 8200 dual core, MSI radeon 3870 OC, Windows XP pro, Gigabyte x38 ds4 mobo.

Thanks.
Relayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 04:31 AM   #2
Kougar
Techgage Staff
 
Kougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,653
Default

You might try placing the GPU into a different PCIe slot but I don't expect that to do anything. I would suggest installing a different GPU to boot the system from, and once you've verified the system works fine you should contact MSI to get support for your card. Unlike most motherboards, most GPU's don't have a backup BIOS.

Unfortunately that doesn't sound promising, the GPU may be unrecoverable. The only option short of MSI support is if you have a PCI-based GPU laying around it may be possible to boot to the PCI graphics card and reattempt to flash the PCIe MSI 3870.
__________________
Core i7 4770k 4.2Ghz
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Crucial Ballistix Sport LP 1600MHz 32GB
EVGA GTX 480 HydroCopper FTW
ASUS Xonar DX
Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB | Windows 7 64-bit
Apogee XT + MCP655 & Thermochill Triple 140mm Radiator
Corsair AX1200 PSU | Cooler Master HAF-X

Kougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 11:42 AM   #3
b1lk1
Tech Monkey
 
b1lk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ontario
Posts: 821
Default

I agree with Kougar. If it is indeed the video card, using a PCI card to attempt to flash it is the only option short of RMA. I also want to add that it is never a good idea to flash the bios of anything unless there are identifiable problems with the current bios it is running.
__________________
Oldschool PC:
Intel E6300/Nouctua NH-9U w/dual 92mm Panaflos
XFX 680i LT
Patriot PC2-6400 2X2GB LL
2 X BFG 8800GTX in SLI
Enermax Revolution 620W PSU
ASUS 24X DVD/Seagate 250GB SATA 2/THermaltake A90/Windows 7 Ultimate 64
b1lk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 01:55 AM   #4
Relayer
E.M.I.
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 67
Default

Thanks, guys. The only video card I have lying around is a Radeon 7500 AGP card. Will that even work with my mobo?
Relayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 06:04 AM   #5
Merlin
The Tech Wizard
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,858
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Relayer View Post
Thanks, guys. The only video card I have lying around is a Radeon 7500 AGP card. Will that even work with my mobo?
If you have an AGP slot, then yes.
I only know of one board that has PCIe and AGP, and I dont think it's that one
__________________
Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 920 watercooled
Asus P6X580 Premium mobo,
GTX280 GPU watercooled
Synology NAS 207 Network Server with 2 Hitachi Terabite drives
LG NAS N2R1 with 2 ea 2 tb drives
LINKSYS PLK300 Powerline Network Kit

Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 09:38 AM   #6
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

It's too late to say now, but GPU BIOS overclocking should never be attempted unless you have a specific reason for it. The fact that the auto-updater would go ahead and flash the card is a little odd, since there's a far greater chance of something going wrong with a GPU flash than a motherboard one. For the most part, flashing your motherboard to the latest BIOS isn't a huge deal, but GPU is a different story. I almost lost a video card the same way, but was able to reflash using the original BIOS. I'm not sure if that's an option here, but I'd definitely recommend contacting MSI.

As for the AGP card, no that won't work.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 04:09 AM   #7
Relayer
E.M.I.
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 67
Default

Thanks for the input. MSI suggests returning it to my retailer to have them recover the BIOS. Problem is there's no local (full service) retailer in Christchurch for the card. NZ is a small market and I'd have to have it curriered to the No. Island. I think my next course of action will be to see if I can install the card into my wife's PC and attempt to reflash it there.
Since it wouldn't accept the BIOS when I tried to update it, which caused the whole problem to begin with, I'm figuring that it won't work any better on my wife's PC. Can anyone explain the procedure for me me, please? Besides using MSI's live update app.

I was having issues with my 3D application (Cinema 4D) crashing with certain OGL settings activated (soft shadows). Which is why I was trying to update the BIOS. I've gone through 4 driver upgrades with no fix. ATI doesn't offer support for Radeon cards used with professional 3D aps. (C4D, Max, etc...). So, I thought possibly the newer BIOS might have fixed it. I figured it was worth a try, anyway. Just an FYI so you'll know why I was trying the BIOS upgrade.

Anyway, thanks for the help.
Relayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 12:47 AM   #8
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

GPU BIOS flashing can be different with each card, so you'd have to read up on it. I've only done it twice, and really don't remember what I did (except that I required a stupid floppy). Hopefully someone else here will be able to offer some advice.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 03:02 AM   #9
Kougar
Techgage Staff
 
Kougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,653
Default

Unless your wife's PC uses an integrated GPU or a PCI GPU, then that is likely not going to be an option. If her machine uses a PCIe slot (Your 3870 is a PCIe slot card), then it will need two of them and you should be aware that if not done correctly attempting this has the potential to flash her PCIe card and ruin that one as well.

Most likely flashing it will require a floppy, as Rob said. Flashing a GPU BIOS from within windows is not very common, and doesn't always work as you found out. Some users can do this via a USB flash drive they made bootable, but that takes a bit of knowledge just to make it bootable.

Here's a good guide for ya to get started with though http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=11
__________________
Core i7 4770k 4.2Ghz
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Crucial Ballistix Sport LP 1600MHz 32GB
EVGA GTX 480 HydroCopper FTW
ASUS Xonar DX
Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB | Windows 7 64-bit
Apogee XT + MCP655 & Thermochill Triple 140mm Radiator
Corsair AX1200 PSU | Cooler Master HAF-X

Kougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 04:29 AM   #10
Relayer
E.M.I.
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 67
Default

Thanks, Cougar. Her PC has integrated video and a floppy drive. I'll read the info you've posted.
Relayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So, that's why the wireless isn't working well Rob Williams General Hardware 4 12-27-2012 11:47 AM
Valve Confirmed to be Working on Steam for Linux Rob Williams Gaming 9 05-02-2012 09:17 PM
FIFA 10 Working on Intel GMA 4500MHD (JUST CONFIRMING [= ) ryanshedy Gaming 0 09-30-2009 04:37 PM
Component Cables (PC to TV) not working Zaza Video Cards and Displays 6 01-29-2008 05:06 PM
Daewoo Develops Working Holographic Storage Device sbrehm72255 Storage Devices and Memory 1 04-21-2006 07:46 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:19 AM.