Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Hardware > General Hardware

General Hardware Any tech topic that can't be fit into another category belongs here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2009, 08:47 PM   #1
Kawika322
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Default Running Blu Ray on my Customized Dell Dimension 3000

Hi,

I am trying to figure out if I I will be able to run Blu Ray discs on my computer. I have a Dell Dimension 3000 with a Pentium 4, 2.4 ghz processor with 2 gb ram. Originally it had a 250w power supply, but I replaced it with a 500w. To upgrade my graphics card from the internal Intel(R) 82865G Graphics Controller, I installed a Nvidia GeForce 9400 GT 1gb graphics card. I also took out one of the optical drives and installed an LG BH08 Super Mulit Blu Ray player/writer.

After doing all of this and installing the LG software (which is hear is not that great) I tried playing a Blu Ray movie, and all I got was the sound and no video. I put in a different Blu Ray movie and I got both sound and video, but it played very choppy. To compare, I played a regular DVD and it seemed to work fine. From reading a few different posts, I heard that using Media Player Classic Home Cinema might be better than than the LG software and PowerDVD7.

Is there any way that I can change settings on my computer for the Blu Ray to play correctly? and with my current hardware setup, is it even possible that it will play decently? (i.e. is my processor too inferior to support it?)

Any information would be helpful.

Thanks,

Kawika
Kawika322 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 10:39 PM   #2
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

Hi Kawika and welcome to the forums :-)

Unfortunately, it does sound like the processor could be the bottleneck, although I can't verify that since I haven't tested it out myself. But Blu-ray movies are quite CPU-intensive, and given that your P4 2.4GHz would be about five-years-old, it kind of leads me to believe that it's the issue.

You may want to look through the options of your player and see if there's a way to enable GPU acceleration, to see if that helps. PowerDVD does have something like that, but I'm not sure if it's entirely GPU-accelerated or if it still relies some on the processor. If PowerDVD doesn't work, you might want to test out other Blu-ray player software to see if it runs any better, like WinDVD and Arcsoft TotalMedia Theatre. I'd also recommend checking out Media Player Classic Home Cinema, like you mentioned.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 10:52 PM   #3
Tharic-Nar
Techgage Staff
 
Tharic-Nar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,166
Default

The other problem could very well be the dreaded HDCP protection system as well, the lack of video playback sounds like the culprit. In order to play back HD media, you typically need a HDCP compatible Chain. The monitor needs to be HDCP compliant, this is usually over HDMI, DVI or Displayport, VGA will not work. The graphics card needs to be compliant, again, all ports apart from VGA etc. (i think yours is compatible). Also the BD drive needs to be compatible (which yours is). And finally, the software, which may be a weak link as well.

You will struggle to get HD playback with a P4 without graphics acceleration. so Media player Classic Home cinema will be needed, or if you have a copy, PowerDVD. I have a P4 3.0Ghz, and i have to use MPC Home Cinema to play HD content back, otherwise i get 70-100% CPU usage for 20fps playback....
Tharic-Nar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 01:48 AM   #4
Kougar
Techgage Staff
 
Kougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,653
Default

Kawika, have you installed the latest drivers from NVIDIA's website for your graphics card? Without them you will not get GPU acceleration for your Blu Ray movies. The Pentium 4 should be capable of playing most Blu-Ray titles with the 9400GT doing the brunt of the work, by itself it will not be capable of playing full bitrate Blu-ray content.

Most movies do not yet have the flag set that requires HDCP for playback to the best of my knowledge. You can grab Home Cinema (and codecs for it) through this installer package: http://www.codecguide.com/download_k..._pack_full.htm
__________________
Core i7 4770k 4.2Ghz
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Crucial Ballistix Sport LP 1600MHz 32GB
EVGA GTX 480 HydroCopper FTW
ASUS Xonar DX
Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB | Windows 7 64-bit
Apogee XT + MCP655 & Thermochill Triple 140mm Radiator
Corsair AX1200 PSU | Cooler Master HAF-X

Kougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 04:34 PM   #5
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tharic-Nar
The other problem could very well be the dreaded HDCP protection system as well, the lack of video playback sounds like the culprit.
That could be a possibility as well, but most often, if there's an HDCP issue, then there will be an error that makes it clear, and generally, a movie wouldn't play just choppy... it wouldn't play at all. HDCP varies from movie to movie as well though, so it's hard to say. Like you mentioned, it could actually have to do with the connections themselves, and the display.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tharic-Nar
I have a P4 3.0Ghz, and i have to use MPC Home Cinema to play HD content back, otherwise i get 70-100% CPU usage for 20fps playback....
Is this HD Blu-ray quality, though (30 - 40Mbit/s)? There's a lot of HD out there that's not really HD in terms of bitrate.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kougar
Kawika, have you installed the latest drivers from NVIDIA's website for your graphics card?
Good point, that one escaped me.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 11:02 PM   #6
Tharic-Nar
Techgage Staff
 
Tharic-Nar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,166
Default

HDCP can work in a number of ways, from limiting maximum resolution to that of a DVD, by preventing any video playback at all - but still allow audio, or by completely disabling playback, it doesn't even need to give you warnings - that's why it can be a pain to diagnose, it's all up to the publishers discretion. But your probably right, choppy playback is usually just a lack-of or unoptimised processing grunt...

With my system, if the clip is more than 10Mb/s (which is pretty much all HD content), then i get frame dropping, anything over 10Mb and it turns from a flip book animation to a PowerPoint Presentation, sometimes as low as 0.25fps... which would be the 40Mb parts probably.

These days, i just watch HD content on the PS3 hooked up to my 24" monitor.
Tharic-Nar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 03:31 AM   #7
2Tired2Tango
Tech Monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 648
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kawika322 View Post
I am trying to figure out if I I will be able to run Blu Ray discs on my computer. I have a Dell Dimension 3000 with a Pentium 4, 2.4 ghz processor with 2 gb ram. Originally it had a 250w power supply, but I replaced it with a 500w. To upgrade my graphics card from the internal Intel(R) 82865G Graphics Controller, I installed a Nvidia GeForce 9400 GT 1gb graphics card. I also took out one of the optical drives and installed an LG BH08 Super Mulit Blu Ray player/writer.
Yes your computer should do a fine job with BlueRay. I have several friends who run BlueRay on Atom based machines running 1.6ghz, with the ION video chip and they handle it just fine so given that your system is easily twice as fast, I shouldn't think you'll have a problem.

The video card should be no problem. It goes beyond 1080p resolutions and is advertised for HD content. So I think this should be OK too.

Depending on your monitor you might not be able to decode to full 1080p but a good media player (or Codec) will be able to adjust the resolution for you. If possible get connected to your monitor with DVI or HDMI as these are far better than VGA or SVGA.

So, hardware wise I'm thinking you're probably ok.

Now for the software...
First... Uninstall everything from the LG disk. You don't need any of it for the drive to work. In Hardware Manager, uninstall the drive and shut down your system. Disconnect the drive, boot up your system, let it discover the drive is missing, check that all other drives are behaving normally and then shut down, reconnect the drive and boot it back up... Wait for the new hardware detection, allow it to auto-install and do not be tempted to reinstall LG's garbage.

DO NOT go into the driver's dialog and set your DVD region, the minute you do that it will only play disks for that region.

Second, uninstall any codecs you've installed for BlueRay playback. Half of them don't work and the ones that do work tend to be of remarkably poor quality.

Next you need to go to Nvidia and get the latest video drivers.
http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us

Depending on your OS version you may need to update Direct X to get the best from the card and drivers.

Lastly, I strongly recommend that you get a copy of MPClassic, Home Cinema version. Don't get the one from Free Codecs, they've got it all messed up. Go right to the MPC-HC home page... http://mpc-hc.sourceforge.net/ MPC-HC comes with all codecs internal, you should not need to install anything else.

Ok, now the fun part... MPC-HC does not run right out of the box. You do have to do some setup. Leave all Playback options on "System Default" so that it automatically selects the video drivers for you. Otherwise go through everything and set it up as your system dictates.

I currently have MPC-HC in about 20 systems and so far it's never let me down.
__________________
Tango

"An unexamined life is not worth living" ... Socrates
2Tired2Tango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 10:16 AM   #8
Brett Thomas
Senior Editor
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 164
Default

As 2tired states, there's not really a processor bottleneck with that system because of the graphics card. His instructions are solid and should work fine for you to enjoy good blu-ray movies.

If you have any problems, make sure to post them - there's not any reason his instructions shouldn't produce a working system for you, so if you still have trouble then we can help you get to the bottom of it.
Brett Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 12:52 PM   #9
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

Wow, great response Tango. I'm sure Kawika is on the path to proper Blu-ray playback (it's unfortunate they have remained so quiet since the original post, though).
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 07:39 AM   #10
2Tired2Tango
Tech Monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 648
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Williams View Post
Wow, great response Tango. I'm sure Kawika is on the path to proper Blu-ray playback (it's unfortunate they have remained so quiet since the original post, though).
Typical of the "new courtesy"... He got his answer.

If it wasn't working we'd probably have heard about it by now.
__________________
Tango

"An unexamined life is not worth living" ... Socrates
2Tired2Tango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2009, 03:53 PM   #11
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Tired2Tango View Post
Typical of the "new courtesy"... He got his answer.

If it wasn't working we'd probably have heard about it by now.
Haha, I'm not too sure... it could be a lot of different things. It's not the first time it's happened here, so it could be that they posted on more than one forum and forgot one or more of them. Either way, your advice is going to prove useful to anyone who searches for the same problem in a search engine.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 06:59 PM   #12
Kawika322
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Hi 2Tired2Tango. Thank you for your advice. I have been busy with work and school these past few weeks but now have a little free time so I am going to try your method. I will probably have some hiccups along the way, as I am only moderate savvy in terms of hardware and software issues, so I will be sure to post questions I have.
Kawika322 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 10:40 PM   #13
2Tired2Tango
Tech Monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 648
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kawika322 View Post
Hi 2Tired2Tango. Thank you for your advice. I have been busy with work and school these past few weeks but now have a little free time so I am going to try your method. I will probably have some hiccups along the way, as I am only moderate savvy in terms of hardware and software issues, so I will be sure to post questions I have.
Ahhh... the old distraction problem. Been there....

I'm pretty sure that if you follow the steps you should be fine but there's a pretty good crew here so if you get stuck at least one of us should be able to help.
__________________
Tango

"An unexamined life is not worth living" ... Socrates
2Tired2Tango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 11:01 PM   #14
kate59588
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Default

I am running the latest beta of pavtube blu ray ripper software which allows me to copy the decrypted m2ts files from the BD disc. I can play the m2ts file using Media Player Classic - Home Cinema x64 and Arcsoft TotalMedia Theatre 3. However VLC Player 1.0.5 is not able to play the file.
http://www.pavtube.com/guide/rip-pla...me-cinema.html
kate59588 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Terraria Evil Dimension Feature: Developer Quits Rob Williams Gaming 1 02-29-2012 09:12 AM
Microsoft Wireless Notebook Optical Mouse 3000 Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 31 07-05-2011 06:13 PM
PSP-3000 Now Available Across North America Rob Williams Gaming 2 10-31-2008 01:10 PM
Microsoft LifeCam VX-6000 & VX-3000 Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 0 10-04-2007 10:05 PM
No more 3000+, 3200+ Rob Williams Processors 10 07-12-2006 11:49 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:13 AM.