Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Archives > Reviews and Articles

Reviews and Articles Discussion for Techgage content is located here. Only staff can create topics, but everyone is welcome to post.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-24-2006, 12:45 AM   #1
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default Logitech Harmony Universal Remote for Xbox 360

Are you an Xbox 360 owner and want an all-in-one remote control? Logitech was on the ball and produced such a remote, and it can control probably every device in your gaming room. Let's take a closer look to see how user friendly this thing is!

After reading the review here, feel free to discuss it here!
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 02:15 PM   #2
BlackAndy
E.M.I.
 
BlackAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Plainfield, IN
Posts: 52
Default

Rob,
Nice review! Looks like a very cool remote, I've seen it in the store, but thought it was a little out of my price range at the time. Two questions, any idea how this works with a PC running Windows Media Center(ie. how it will navigate between different forms of media)? And how hard was it to program to your TV 's specific features like picture-in-picture, etc.
T.I.A.
BlackAndy
BlackAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 02:59 PM   #3
Shteve
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

The Logitech remotes actually use a slightly different method of usage, thats quite a bit easier than normal programmable remotes. You set up different tasks such as:

I want to watch a DVD using the TV sound
I want to watch a DVD using my Amp

so you can set it for each action you want to do (option 1 would leave the amp off, but assign the volume buttons to control the tv, whilst option 2 would switch on the amp and program the volume buttons to control the amp) etc

The remote does keep track of which systems are activated (slight error in the review), but cannot handle systems without a seperate button for power on/off. A device which simply has a toggle power switch will just toggle between on/off ie if your tv is already on when you choose to use the remote, it will switch the tv off - the help facility will get it switched back on easily enough. Personally I've bypassed that problem by telling the remote that there is a different button for on and off, and then not programmed an 'on' IR command. I have to switch the TV on manually, but then all works great from then.

It also has an IR signal learning facility, so if a feature is missing from Logi's database, you can teach it to your remote anyway.

I don't have this model remote exactly (mine's the 585), but it looks very similar and I'm 99.9999% sure my comments will stand with this remote too.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 03:00 PM   #4
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

Hey BlackAndy,

My TV doesn't have PIP as far as I know, so I can't test that. The options are there in the remote though. As for Windows Media Center, I could not test because my Xbox is not hooked up to a computer. I am going to go buy a new router today which will make that possible. I really don't see any problems with the remote working for that though, as long as you are using the Media Center *through* your Xbox 360.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 03:03 PM   #5
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shteve
The remote does keep track of which systems are activated (slight error in the review), but cannot handle systems without a seperate button for power on/off.
I meant that in the sense that if you manually turned on your TV, then the remote doesn't know. On one occasion, I pushed the button to play Xbox and it turned my TV off, because it didn't know it was already on. It's just a product you have to play around with a little bit, but it's still nice.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2006, 12:21 PM   #6
Greg King
I just kinda show up...
 
Greg King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,085
Default

Might have to look into one of those. I use the ol' 360 a lot more that for just playing games and many times, a remote would have came in handy. Hmmm....
__________________
"It is far better to grasp the universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring."
- Carl Sagan

System:
Intel i5 2500K | Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD4 | 16GB G.Skill DDR3 | Crucial M4 128GB SSD
WD 1TB Black x1 | WD 2TB Green x 1 | EVGA 660 Ti Superclocked | Corsair H80 Water Cooler
Fractal Design R3 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Dell 2410 x 3 @ 1920x1200

ESXi Host:
Intel i7 920 @ 3.0 GHz | Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD4P | 24GB Patriot DDR3 | WD 1TB Black x 2
Greg King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2006, 02:16 AM   #7
ducarti
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 21
Default

Very nice review. I think I could use this. Will wait until the price goes down before getting one though.
ducarti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 04:26 AM   #8
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default how to turn off harmony360 remote

after turning off tv and cable how do you turn the remote off it still shows stuff on the lcd...
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 04:51 PM   #9
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Can this remote operate a DVR?

Hey thank you for the review on the remote, so helpful. just one last thing before i buy it, can this remote control DVR's as well?
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
None

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Logitech X-540 5.1 speakers compatible with Xbox Elite??? carface General Hardware 4 04-18-2008 04:15 PM
AblePlanet Clear Harmony Headphones Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 6 03-04-2008 03:45 PM
Logitech Harmony One Advanced Universal Remote Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 7 02-14-2008 01:57 PM
Logitech Harmony 880 Remote Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 0 09-14-2006 08:01 PM
Logitech Cordless Desktop S 510 Media Remote Review Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 0 09-04-2005 10:38 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:19 AM.