Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Hardware > General Hardware

General Hardware Any tech topic that can't be fit into another category belongs here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-14-2010, 08:41 PM   #1
TheCrimsonStar
Tech Monkey
 
TheCrimsonStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Strawberry Plains, TN
Posts: 816
Default Got an issue

Ok so I go to play HL2DM, and I notice my ping is over 1,000. I'm like how the heck??? I opened up the task manager to look at what was running, and i pressed "show processes from all users" but there was nothing I didn't recognize that was running. Then I hit the networking tab, and holy snap my network utilization was nearly at 3%. I have slow internet, (1mbps) so that REALLY shocked me because it NEVER goes over 1.5 even when I'm downloading. I did a virus scan with AVG, then MalwareBytes, and I'm currently installing PCTools Spyware Doctor, but the other two didn't find anything. Now it's fine all of a sudden, but it randomly starts acting like there's massive network activity and there's not. Any idea what's going on??
TheCrimsonStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 09:12 PM   #2
TheCrimsonStar
Tech Monkey
 
TheCrimsonStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Strawberry Plains, TN
Posts: 816
Default

Ok I may have found what was causing it, and if it was, boy do I feel stupid. What I think happened was earlier today I had started a download for EVE Online. It's 2.5GB and my college internet is only 1.5mbps, so it would definitely take a few hours. Well turns out what may have happened is when I left the campus to come home today, I put my computer to sleep. The EVE Online downloader disappeared, and I noticed that network issue. I think the downloader may have put itself into a background process, and for some reason I couldn't see it.

Now the reason I think this is because when I put my laptop in sleep as I was leaving campus, the EVE downloader was only at about 60%. I just opened it up a minute ago to finish the download and lo and behold, the download is finished and the installation commenced.

TheCrimsonStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 11:16 PM   #3
Tharic-Nar
Techgage Staff
 
Tharic-Nar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,166
Default

Hidden browser download managers.... the joys of. You just saved me going through all the usual paraphernalia related to isolating high ping time causes. Wireless network, peak time, dodgy router, background processes, etc etc... But never mind, always good when a problem solves itself.
Tharic-Nar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 11:45 PM   #4
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

Haha, that picture made me LOL for real after I read the first post. If that's all the problem was, then great. Better that than something like a NIC dying or something else. Let us know if things keep up.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 12:36 AM   #5
TheCrimsonStar
Tech Monkey
 
TheCrimsonStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Strawberry Plains, TN
Posts: 816
Default

well it still works fine! Just played HL2DM for about 1 1/2 hrs and no ping rise at all..stayed at a steady 25ms

Odd thing though..I have really slow internet, but good ping..usually 25-35 on the server I play on a lot. I go to my friend's house, he has a 20mbps line, and I get 75-90 ping there. O_o
TheCrimsonStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 12:56 AM   #6
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

Internet bandwidth and latencies have nothing to do with each other, which is the reason something like that happens. It's the same on the PC, where lots of memory might give better bandwidth, but the latencies aren't going to improve. It could also depend on the PC also, and what's running in the background ( ;-) ).

Glad you got it all sorted out!
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone ever have this issue with Origin? Rob Williams Gaming 6 02-28-2013 03:14 PM
Having an issue with NAT Rob Williams General Hardware 15 04-18-2012 04:46 PM
USB issue tanusgreystar General Hardware 6 09-03-2008 03:18 PM
Video Issue g-sixty General Software 3 02-27-2007 02:08 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:38 PM.