Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Hardware > General Hardware

General Hardware Any tech topic that can't be fit into another category belongs here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-16-2006, 07:18 PM   #1
Flipi
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bucharest - Romania
Posts: 22
Default Networking - seeking solutions

Hi

I am setting up a small home network and got into trouble, maybe there is someone out there who knows how to get this one right.

This is my hardware:
Msi K8n Diamond
Amd X2 3800+
1gb Geil ultra x Pc 3200 2-2-2-5 1T
Leadtek Winfast Px6600 Gt Extreme
2 x Wd Ata 100
Asus Dvd-rw

So, I connect to the internet through onboard nvidia lan, using the hardware firewall too. Then I connect an older computer to this one through the second onboard lan Marvell using a crossover cable.
i set everything up and get the strangest thing: the internet connection gets lost if the Marvell lan is enabled, once I disable it there goes my problem....

I tried setting fixed ip for the second computer, also tried dynamic. None works. Marvell lan has fixed ip.

Any ideea?
__________________
Don't think you are, know you are!
Flipi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2006, 11:11 PM   #2
Buck-O
Coastermaker
 
Buck-O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 153
Default

DO you have Windows Internet connection shring properly setup?
I know its a silly question, but still.

Also, you may not need to use a X-over cable. ALot of modern NIC's are auto sensing, and will configure the pinouts accordingly at the cards end.
Buck-O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2006, 08:03 AM   #3
Flipi
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bucharest - Romania
Posts: 22
Default

Yes. It used to work in the way I described it.
About crossover cable, I don't think that ther is another way of connecting two computer through their lan adapters if not using a hub or a router.
__________________
Don't think you are, know you are!
Flipi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2006, 02:31 PM   #4
T-Shirt
E.M.I.
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 95
Default

Buck-o is correct, Most, if not all current NIC's automaticailly sense and change to crossover if needed (it's called MDI/MDI-X) and it only has to be available/active on one of the cards for it to work.
It sounds like your comuter sense the marvel as a new internet connection, but then(of course )cannot connect.
It's an error in the way ICS was setup so delete all of the ICS setup and get your actual internet connection running before attempting to re run the ICS wizard.
The other method would be to run a third party proxy (AnalogX has a decent free one http://www.analogx.com/contents/down...work/proxy.htm)
on the main machine and connect the old computer through the proxy.
The disadvanage is the main computer must be on and able to connect for it to work.
A cheap router/nat box would be the best solution, allowing either or both computers to log on independantly and or simultanously.
T-Shirt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2006, 09:50 PM   #5
Jakal
Tech Monkey
 
Jakal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Missiskippy
Posts: 634
Default

First, reinstall your network set your active internet connection as your nvidia or top network port.


You need to have the setting "The other computers on my network connect to the internet through this computer.


Then, click the Marvell lan as the way other computers connect to your network.Ignore unactive connections.



If the Marvell and Nvidia are setup in the network as a bridge you need to disable the bridge.

This is the way I've got my PS2 setup, because I broke my router. I've had no problems at all.
__________________
Intel C2Quad Q9400 @3.6Ghz | Asus PM5Q Deluxe | OCZ Reaper HPC PC2-8500 8GB | XFX Black Edition 260/216| knobs are great for twisting, turning, squeezing and pulling... especially your own..... that's how doors open | Chaos Havok: grrrr im lagging me | <@Deathspawner> I wish I was in Windows :-/
Jakal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GELID Solutions Releases its First Chassis: DarkForce Rob Williams General Hardware 0 01-04-2012 03:25 PM
Networking Merlin General Technology 2 10-04-2011 05:53 AM
OCZ Launches Deneva 2 SSDs Targeting Enterprise Solutions Tharic-Nar Storage Devices and Memory 0 06-21-2011 02:52 PM
Motherboard Manufacturers Outline Solutions to 6-Series Chipset Flaw Tharic-Nar Motherboards 3 02-02-2011 10:29 PM
Razer Pro Solutions Pro|Click v1.6 and Pro|Type Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 5 05-14-2007 02:56 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:47 AM.