Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Submissions > Reader-Submitted Reviews

Reader-Submitted Reviews Purchased a stellar or lackluster product? Let your fellow community members in on your thoughts!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-12-2011, 05:09 PM   #16
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

In the 40+ hours I've put into the game using DX11 + anti-aliasing, I haven't encountered a single issue related to it. The couple of crashes I did experience were proven to be Steam-related.

Judging by things you've told me and things you mention in your review, you seem to have experienced a larger-than-normal collection of bugs. Aside from the Steam issues I had, I only recall a single instance in the game when I encountered a real bug (dead body glitched into the wall).
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 05:39 PM   #17
Doomsday
Tech Junkie
 
Doomsday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: KHI, PAK
Posts: 1,559
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kayden View Post
Well I assumed it was a bsod, because I got a hard lock then a restart. I am not the only one to experience this either, it's out there. Also this is the ONLY game to do this to me with my new machine, unless my cpu was OC, now it isn't and have had one problem.

I'll retort more later, when I'm not so busy.
Same here! Happened once when i was juming from the roof and it crashed. My lcd went blank and had to restart the PC!
__________________
PSU: Corsair AX850 - Case: Cooler Master HAF X - CPU:Core i7-2600k - Cooler: Cooler Master V6 GT - Motherboard: Asus Z68 Maximus IV Extreme Z - Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8 GB-1600Mhz - GPU: AMD MSI R6970 Lightning - HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB, Seagate 2TB Barracuda Green - SSD: Intel 520 Series 120GB - K/B: Razer Lycosa Mirror - Mouse: Logitech G700 - MouseMat: Steel Series 4HD - LCD: Asus VG278H 27" - Speakers: Creative Inspire M4500 4.1 - Headset: Logitech G35 7.1



"Do not look at a man's prayers nor his fasts, rather, measure him by how well he deals with others, the compassion he shows his fellow man, his wisdom and his integrity" - Umar Ibn Al-Khattab


Doomsday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 07:14 PM   #18
Kayden
Techgage Staff
 
Kayden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 710
Default

Well looking at the eidos forum some people are having so many issues it's unplayable, it's funny how that works. Hopefully they find a cause and fix it soon, because it is a good. marfig I haven't forgotten you just been busy, after I finish my errands I will put some time into making a worthwhile reply, promise.
__________________
Koolance PC4-1036BK Liquid Cooled Aluminum Full Tower Case (Upgraded to displace 1320watt of heat) - Koolance 360 ver 1.2 CPU Water Block - PrimoChill ICE Non-Conductive Fluid - Asus P6X58D Premium - Intel I7 950 - Evga GTX580 FTW Hydro Copper 2 x2 in SLI - Tt SMART M1200W PSU - Kingston HyperX 12GB 1600 XMP - Klipsch 5.1 THX Cert Speakers - Sata II OCZ Vertex 4 128GB, Kingston 120GB SV300, WD 2TB, & 320GB - Seagate 1TB - Cyborg RAT 7 MMO Mouse - Logitech G19 - Logitech G13 Gameboard - 1-over-3 Viewsonic's VA2448M-LED 24-Inch for Nvidia Surround - Ergotech Triple Horizontal LCD Monitor Arm Desk Stand


Kayden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 07:27 PM   #19
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kayden View Post
Well looking at the eidos forum some people are having so many issues it's unplayable, it's funny how that works.
Is this a joke, or do you not realize how ridiculous that logic is?
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 08:56 PM   #20
marfig
No ROM battery
 
marfig's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 784
Default

Well, I finished my second playthrough just know. And while doing it a third time would just be weird, I can see myself coming back to this game in some months from now. Besides my vacations are almost over. I enjoyed greatly the experience and it's been quite a while since I last enjoyed a game to this extent. It catapulted itself to my list of all-time favorites.

@Kayden, you don't need to feel obliged to answer mate. It's clear that we aren't going to agree on this particular matter. We just have very different expectations. And that's crucial to the way we look at games in general. However, I do humbly wished you dropped the showstopper bug claims. This game simply doesn't have them. Which isn't to say you and some others aren't experiencing it. Just that what you see at Eidos forums and what you yourself is experiencing is a tiny portion of the much broader reality of 2 million copies shipped so far. And I hate to break it to ya, but that's the same for every single game out there, in the past, present and future.
__________________
NOX COOLBAY Side Window Black; NOX Apex 600w Modular; ASUS P7P55D-E Socket 1156, Sata 6Gb/s & USB 3.0;
Intel Quad Core i5 760 2.80 Ghz @ 3.60 Ghz, 8 Mb de cache; Gskill Ripjaws 4 Gb DDR3 1600 Mhz CL8 Dual Channel;
ASUS GEFORCE GTX 560 TI DC II 1024MB GDDR5; Samsung 1 Tb 32 Mb SpinPoint F3; NEC 24x Sata black
Artic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2;
2x Samsung SyncMaster S43NW 8000:1 (1440x900)
Logitech K120 Keyboard and Logitech Performance Mouse MX
marfig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 09:22 PM   #21
Kayden
Techgage Staff
 
Kayden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 710
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Williams View Post
Is this a joke, or do you not realize how ridiculous that logic is?
I meant funny how some ppl have no issues, some others have a little and others are totally screwed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by marfig View Post
@Kayden, you don't need to feel obliged to answer mate. It's clear that we aren't going to agree on this particular matter. We just have very different expectations. And that's crucial to the way we look at games in general. However, I do humbly wished you dropped the showstopper bug claims. This game simply doesn't have them. Which isn't to say you and some others aren't experiencing it. Just that what you see at Eidos forums and what you yourself is experiencing is a tiny portion of the much broader reality of 2 million copies shipped so far. And I hate to break it to ya, but that's the same for every single game out there, in the past, present and future.
Okay then I wont make such an indepth reply and move on. Just to retort that last comment though. The game may not have been a problem for you doesn't mean they don't exist. I know no game will be perfect when you consider how many different possible hardware configurations there are, and for me I experienced it. I gave a solution on how to fix it and honestly any game that restarts my machine is a show stopper, and tells me there is a larger issue lurking in the game. The reason it isn't such a problem is maybe because I have SLI, it's the nvidia or ati drivers or something else that is causing a common problem for this game with DX11, I don't know. I would be remiss however if I did not mention it in the review and on forums. I will not turn a blind eye to said problem if I personally experienced it, I can not in good conscious do that. I have been where you are though, everything working perfect on my end and wondering what others have done to their systems to screw up a game, case and point Dragon Age II. The game ran just fine for me with DX11 and SLI but others had MAJOR issues with FPS on similar rigs, even some near identical. I looked into it and help others resolve the issue, but because I didn't do things in the configuration the same exact way at first, I never experienced said problems until I fooled around with it. I know you want me to change my opinion but I can't do that, sorry mate.
__________________
Koolance PC4-1036BK Liquid Cooled Aluminum Full Tower Case (Upgraded to displace 1320watt of heat) - Koolance 360 ver 1.2 CPU Water Block - PrimoChill ICE Non-Conductive Fluid - Asus P6X58D Premium - Intel I7 950 - Evga GTX580 FTW Hydro Copper 2 x2 in SLI - Tt SMART M1200W PSU - Kingston HyperX 12GB 1600 XMP - Klipsch 5.1 THX Cert Speakers - Sata II OCZ Vertex 4 128GB, Kingston 120GB SV300, WD 2TB, & 320GB - Seagate 1TB - Cyborg RAT 7 MMO Mouse - Logitech G19 - Logitech G13 Gameboard - 1-over-3 Viewsonic's VA2448M-LED 24-Inch for Nvidia Surround - Ergotech Triple Horizontal LCD Monitor Arm Desk Stand



Last edited by Kayden; 09-12-2011 at 09:33 PM.
Kayden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 01:56 AM   #22
GFreeman
Coastermaker
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 249
Default

I'm not that much on FPS games anymore because I find the violence somewhat disturbing actually. This game in particular does have some of that too. More into strategy, racing, adventure games these days. And some FPS games from time to time.
__________________

AMD 64 X2 4200 @2.8Ghz (1,425v)
CNPS8700 LED CPU cooler@2,537rpm
Asus A8V deluxe (s939)
Kingston Hyperx 2GB DDR@DDR400 (2,5-3-2-6-1T)
Sapphire ATI 3850 AGP@901/2200 (1.275v)
Zalman VF700-Alcu VGA cooler@2,650rpm
CoolerMaster Truepower 550W
GFreeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 07:45 AM   #23
Flangie
Obliviot
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Default

The datastore is not a bug. If you look, the path to the erver is open, hack that and every datastorencog will be hacked automatically so no need to waste time hackung them!
Flangie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 10:31 PM   #24
marfig
No ROM battery
 
marfig's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 784
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flangie View Post
The datastore is not a bug. If you look, the path to the erver is open, hack that and every datastorencog will be hacked automatically so no need to waste time hackung them!
Yeah. Thanks, Flangie. Been forgetting to mention this. It's as Flangie says. Capturing all Red Towers (known in-game as Diagnostic Subroutines, IIRC), we automatically capture all datastores along with successfully hacking the device.

So, pay attention to your hacking. Depending on the layout, it may be faster, safer and more economical to aim for the red towers to complete the hack. Although to be frank I did find that with Hacking: Stealth maxed, hacking becomes perhaps too easy for the rest of the game and it shouldn't matter much.

Updated the article to reflect that. Thanks once again.
__________________
NOX COOLBAY Side Window Black; NOX Apex 600w Modular; ASUS P7P55D-E Socket 1156, Sata 6Gb/s & USB 3.0;
Intel Quad Core i5 760 2.80 Ghz @ 3.60 Ghz, 8 Mb de cache; Gskill Ripjaws 4 Gb DDR3 1600 Mhz CL8 Dual Channel;
ASUS GEFORCE GTX 560 TI DC II 1024MB GDDR5; Samsung 1 Tb 32 Mb SpinPoint F3; NEC 24x Sata black
Artic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2;
2x Samsung SyncMaster S43NW 8000:1 (1440x900)
Logitech K120 Keyboard and Logitech Performance Mouse MX

Last edited by marfig; 09-18-2011 at 10:35 PM.
marfig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 03:34 PM   #25
Doomsday
Tech Junkie
 
Doomsday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: KHI, PAK
Posts: 1,559
Default

Going through my 2nd play through and I am loving it!

Btw, the Witcher 2 review thread is deleted or something!!
__________________
PSU: Corsair AX850 - Case: Cooler Master HAF X - CPU:Core i7-2600k - Cooler: Cooler Master V6 GT - Motherboard: Asus Z68 Maximus IV Extreme Z - Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8 GB-1600Mhz - GPU: AMD MSI R6970 Lightning - HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB, Seagate 2TB Barracuda Green - SSD: Intel 520 Series 120GB - K/B: Razer Lycosa Mirror - Mouse: Logitech G700 - MouseMat: Steel Series 4HD - LCD: Asus VG278H 27" - Speakers: Creative Inspire M4500 4.1 - Headset: Logitech G35 7.1



"Do not look at a man's prayers nor his fasts, rather, measure him by how well he deals with others, the compassion he shows his fellow man, his wisdom and his integrity" - Umar Ibn Al-Khattab


Doomsday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 07:21 PM   #26
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

What Witcher 2 thread?
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 08:10 AM   #27
Doomsday
Tech Junkie
 
Doomsday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: KHI, PAK
Posts: 1,559
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Williams View Post
What Witcher 2 thread?
The Witcher 2 review comment section!

http://techgage.com/article/the_witc...kings_review/4

At the end of the review when I click the 'related comment' link it shows 'No Thread specified.'

Though i think there was a thread for that review. Maybe i be mistaken. Hmm...
__________________
PSU: Corsair AX850 - Case: Cooler Master HAF X - CPU:Core i7-2600k - Cooler: Cooler Master V6 GT - Motherboard: Asus Z68 Maximus IV Extreme Z - Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8 GB-1600Mhz - GPU: AMD MSI R6970 Lightning - HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB, Seagate 2TB Barracuda Green - SSD: Intel 520 Series 120GB - K/B: Razer Lycosa Mirror - Mouse: Logitech G700 - MouseMat: Steel Series 4HD - LCD: Asus VG278H 27" - Speakers: Creative Inspire M4500 4.1 - Headset: Logitech G35 7.1



"Do not look at a man's prayers nor his fasts, rather, measure him by how well he deals with others, the compassion he shows his fellow man, his wisdom and his integrity" - Umar Ibn Al-Khattab



Last edited by Doomsday; 10-17-2011 at 08:14 AM.
Doomsday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 09:00 AM   #28
marfig
No ROM battery
 
marfig's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 784
Default

The thread you are looking for is here. Now get out of my Deus Ex thread!

Seriously though, seems to be some bug on the link, which points to t=0000, when it should be t=8210.
__________________
NOX COOLBAY Side Window Black; NOX Apex 600w Modular; ASUS P7P55D-E Socket 1156, Sata 6Gb/s & USB 3.0;
Intel Quad Core i5 760 2.80 Ghz @ 3.60 Ghz, 8 Mb de cache; Gskill Ripjaws 4 Gb DDR3 1600 Mhz CL8 Dual Channel;
ASUS GEFORCE GTX 560 TI DC II 1024MB GDDR5; Samsung 1 Tb 32 Mb SpinPoint F3; NEC 24x Sata black
Artic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2;
2x Samsung SyncMaster S43NW 8000:1 (1440x900)
Logitech K120 Keyboard and Logitech Performance Mouse MX
marfig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 11:08 AM   #29
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,347
Default

Whoops, fixed.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 01:15 PM   #30
Doomsday
Tech Junkie
 
Doomsday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: KHI, PAK
Posts: 1,559
Default

Coolio!
__________________
PSU: Corsair AX850 - Case: Cooler Master HAF X - CPU:Core i7-2600k - Cooler: Cooler Master V6 GT - Motherboard: Asus Z68 Maximus IV Extreme Z - Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8 GB-1600Mhz - GPU: AMD MSI R6970 Lightning - HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB, Seagate 2TB Barracuda Green - SSD: Intel 520 Series 120GB - K/B: Razer Lycosa Mirror - Mouse: Logitech G700 - MouseMat: Steel Series 4HD - LCD: Asus VG278H 27" - Speakers: Creative Inspire M4500 4.1 - Headset: Logitech G35 7.1



"Do not look at a man's prayers nor his fasts, rather, measure him by how well he deals with others, the compassion he shows his fellow man, his wisdom and his integrity" - Umar Ibn Al-Khattab


Doomsday is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In-Game Ads Activated in Deus Ex: Human Revolution Rob Williams Gaming 11 09-20-2011 08:29 PM
Deus Ex: Human Revolution Review Rob Williams Reviews and Articles 3 09-20-2011 03:55 PM
Deus Ex: Human Revolution - A user review (Part II) marfig Reader-Submitted Reviews 0 09-10-2011 10:01 AM
Deus Ex: Human Revolution - A user review (Part I) marfig Reader-Submitted Reviews 2 09-10-2011 04:55 AM
Deus Ex: Human Revolution Released! Rob Williams Gaming 5 09-07-2011 04:48 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:26 AM.