Latest Forum Posts

Latest News Posts
Coming Soon!
Social
Go Back   Techgage.com > Archives > Reviews and Articles

Reviews and Articles Discussion for Techgage content is located here. Only staff can create topics, but everyone is welcome to post.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-21-2011, 09:07 PM   #1
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default Moving Your 'Non-Movable' Android Apps to an SD Card

Have an Android device that's quickly running out of space due to limited internal memory? Have a large collection of apps that refuse to move over to your SD card? If either of these is true, then you need to know about a simple tweak that can be done to forcibly move over many apps to your SD card - all without rooting.

Read through our how-to and then discuss it here!
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 09:25 PM   #2
RainMotorsports
Partition Master
 
RainMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 359
Default

Good stuff. I keep reading people crying about Adobe Flash being advertised as 4MB and it really being 12 and then the real crying begins.

The Galaxy S2 having 2GB of space for this and the remaining portion of the 16GB to usb storage i have yet to see how I will complain. That said where the heck did the 452 MB of GTA III go since only 12 mb is showing here. Guess they automatically move the payload of some apps to internal storage?

Edit - Yeah apparently GTA III along with some other apps can deploy large payloads to the other internal storage.

Last edited by RainMotorsports; 12-21-2011 at 09:35 PM.
RainMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 09:38 PM   #3
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

Large games like that tend to install themselves to external storage automatically, or keep the main game client and installer on the phone itself and then store all the data on the SD card.

I hear you about that Flash complaint, and I can kind of relate. The phone I have has next-to-no storage yet they preinstall tons of useless apps I'll never use, apps that can't even be moved with the instructions in this article. It's as if HTC makes a buck each time I use Facebook mobile or something.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2011, 01:10 PM   #4
DarkStarr
Tech Monkey
 
DarkStarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 634
Default

Meh, that's why mine is rooted and as soon as the Cyanogen port is polished enough I will toss that on it. I have all bloat crap removed and slimmed down and moved to external thanks to Titanium Backup, much easier than getting the SDK and tweaking IMO. Then again the phone is a midlevel phone so it has 160mb ROM space and like another 160mb internal, then you have w/e is on SD and due to the SD I have quite a bit free on both ROM and Internal.
__________________
Intel Core i7 2700k (4.8 @ 100x48) Watercooled - 16GB Crucial Ballistix @ 1600 Mhz 9.9.9.24 2T
8GB
Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 Mhz 9.9.9.24 2T - Asus Sabertooth P67
- Asus Radeon 7970 Ref. (Non Ghz)
Heatkiller 79xx Ni-Bl (Soon) @ 1050/1500
- 64Gb Crucial M4 SSD - 3x Hitachi 1Tb - Corsair TX950W
Azza Genesis 9000B - 2x Samsung SyncMaster S27A550H - Vizio 32" LCD

DarkStarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2011, 04:06 PM   #5
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStarr View Post
Meh, that's why mine is rooted and as soon as the Cyanogen port is polished enough I will toss that on it. I have all bloat crap removed and slimmed down and moved to external thanks to Titanium Backup, much easier than getting the SDK and tweaking IMO. Then again the phone is a midlevel phone so it has 160mb ROM space and like another 160mb internal, then you have w/e is on SD and due to the SD I have quite a bit free on both ROM and Internal.
This is an area I've not been too familiar with. I've never rooted a phone, because I've never felt the need to, but I might at some point just to see what's possible. If I had an iPhone you'd bet I'd root it immediately, but Android is far less restrictive from the get-go.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 04:38 AM   #6
DarkStarr
Tech Monkey
 
DarkStarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 634
Default

You don't know what your missing then, especially on a higher end phone. So many options and custom roms :P
__________________
Intel Core i7 2700k (4.8 @ 100x48) Watercooled - 16GB Crucial Ballistix @ 1600 Mhz 9.9.9.24 2T
8GB
Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 Mhz 9.9.9.24 2T - Asus Sabertooth P67
- Asus Radeon 7970 Ref. (Non Ghz)
Heatkiller 79xx Ni-Bl (Soon) @ 1050/1500
- 64Gb Crucial M4 SSD - 3x Hitachi 1Tb - Corsair TX950W
Azza Genesis 9000B - 2x Samsung SyncMaster S27A550H - Vizio 32" LCD

DarkStarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 07:09 AM   #7
RainMotorsports
Partition Master
 
RainMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 359
Default

Ive been waiting around to confirm the EK02 update didnt mess with the root methods available. Seems like im good to go doing myne now.

Done. Checked root access and now im going to bed lol. Do some more work on it tomorrow.

Having a bit of trouble getting CWM working. The recovery flash supposedly goes fine. But if i use the reboot option it gives me the android due with an exclamation mark. The stock recovery is there and works fine otherwise.

Permissions are enabled for rom manager. Reading something about possibly renaming a file. Get this sorted later.

Last edited by RainMotorsports; 12-24-2011 at 08:33 AM.
RainMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 03:33 PM   #8
DarkStarr
Tech Monkey
 
DarkStarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 634
Default

Oh, theres a file that reloads the stock recovery EVERY boot (actually shutdown I think), the prevail has it too, rename it and your set.
__________________
Intel Core i7 2700k (4.8 @ 100x48) Watercooled - 16GB Crucial Ballistix @ 1600 Mhz 9.9.9.24 2T
8GB
Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 Mhz 9.9.9.24 2T - Asus Sabertooth P67
- Asus Radeon 7970 Ref. (Non Ghz)
Heatkiller 79xx Ni-Bl (Soon) @ 1050/1500
- 64Gb Crucial M4 SSD - 3x Hitachi 1Tb - Corsair TX950W
Azza Genesis 9000B - 2x Samsung SyncMaster S27A550H - Vizio 32" LCD

DarkStarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 03:25 AM   #9
RainMotorsports
Partition Master
 
RainMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 359
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStarr View Post
Oh, theres a file that reloads the stock recovery EVERY boot (actually shutdown I think), the prevail has it too, rename it and your set.
Turned out the app I used to auto root would do it for me.

Been awhile on a stock rooted firmware with CWM5. I just switched to a modded rom based on the latest leaked firmware. Removal of Carrier IQ is one of the highlights of the current firmware leaks but modem speeds and signal strength as well.

Loving this custom rom. Actually being able to use the tether for free for a minute has made me realize I never actually want to use it at all except those rare emergencies This phone is a mess in that regard not much support for the wifi tether so they hacked the stock application instead.

Last edited by RainMotorsports; 01-01-2012 at 04:46 AM.
RainMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 02:07 PM   #10
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I like this procedure for non-rooted, thanks. I have a question though, After the procedure and then reverting do the apps that are originally designed not to move stay on sd after future updates?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 03:12 PM   #11
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
I like this procedure for non-rooted, thanks. I have a question though, After the procedure and then reverting do the apps that are originally designed not to move stay on sd after future updates?
As far as personal experience goes, yes. I have quite a few apps that are located on the SD card, and have never had an issue with updating them right where they are.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 05:44 PM   #12
Doomsday
Tech Junkie
 
Doomsday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: KHI, PAK
Posts: 1,559
Default

Ooh! I can soo use this on me new Galaxy S2!! w00t!
__________________
PSU: Corsair AX850 - Case: Cooler Master HAF X - CPU:Core i7-2600k - Cooler: Cooler Master V6 GT - Motherboard: Asus Z68 Maximus IV Extreme Z - Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8 GB-1600Mhz - GPU: AMD MSI R6970 Lightning - HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB, Seagate 2TB Barracuda Green - SSD: Intel 520 Series 120GB - K/B: Razer Lycosa Mirror - Mouse: Logitech G700 - MouseMat: Steel Series 4HD - LCD: Asus VG278H 27" - Speakers: Creative Inspire M4500 4.1 - Headset: Logitech G35 7.1



"Do not look at a man's prayers nor his fasts, rather, measure him by how well he deals with others, the compassion he shows his fellow man, his wisdom and his integrity" - Umar Ibn Al-Khattab


Doomsday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 01:18 PM   #13
Rob Williams
Editor-in-Chief
 
Rob Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 13,351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doomsday View Post
Ooh! I can soo use this on me new Galaxy S2!! w00t!
Yup, do it up!
__________________
Intel Core i7-3960X, GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2, Kingston 16GB DDR3-2133, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB
Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB SSD (OS, Apps), WD VR 1TB (Games), Corsair 1000HX, Corsair H70 Cooler
Corsair 800D, Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Gentoo (KDE 4.11. 3.12 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter
<Toad772> I don't always drink alcohol, but when I do, I take it too far.


Rob Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 05:49 PM   #14
Kougar
Techgage Staff
 
Kougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,653
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Williams View Post
This is an area I've not been too familiar with. I've never rooted a phone, because I've never felt the need to, but I might at some point just to see what's possible. If I had an iPhone you'd bet I'd root it immediately, but Android is far less restrictive from the get-go.
Yeah, if you did you'd have to be careful that the carrier never upgrades the firmware on you... bunch of Verizon users ended up with bricked Iphones not covered by any warranty for that awhile back!
__________________
Core i7 4770k 4.2Ghz
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Crucial Ballistix Sport LP 1600MHz 32GB
EVGA GTX 480 HydroCopper FTW
ASUS Xonar DX
Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB | Windows 7 64-bit
Apogee XT + MCP655 & Thermochill Triple 140mm Radiator
Corsair AX1200 PSU | Cooler Master HAF-X

Kougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 09:14 AM   #15
Unregistered
Guest Poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Thanks

Your advise worked brilliantly thanks for the help!
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
None

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would it be Worth Moving to a Calendar Where Every Year Was the Same? Tharic-Nar Off Topic 10 01-20-2012 09:16 AM
10 Android apps at $0.10 each! Rob Williams Tech Deals 7 12-14-2011 01:06 AM
Managed to C4 a moving helicopter in BC2 TheCrimsonStar Gaming 12 08-25-2011 04:52 PM
My Experience of Moving Ubuntu 11.04 from One Notebook to Another Rob Williams General Software 1 05-09-2011 02:08 PM
NVIDIA moving into direct sales? Rob Williams Video Cards and Displays 2 10-05-2010 11:54 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:11 AM.